put a little love in your heart

30Mar10

I had a fantastic weekend, tiring, but fantastic.

Saturday night I went to Dundas Square for Earth Hour. The square was packed with street performers, families and people mildly curious about the commotion.  On stage was Dina Pugliese from Breakfast Television and co-host Frank.  David Miller was also there, I interviewed the mayor on Friday (I’ll tell you about that some other time).

I was excited to see ALL the lights go out downtown, to stand in the middle of the brightest intersection in Canada, in complete darkness. That didn’t quite happen. Yes, some lights went out and it was darker than usual. But, I was a little underwhelmed. A large office building beside the square kept their lights on taking away from what could have been a dramatic show. And to my dismay, most stores kept their window display lights on, even though they were closed. Sears was the only store to shut down all their lights, good for them!

Me and Mr. Guy

After the lights "went out"

That was the first part of my weekend. Sunday night, I volunteered at the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame gala, I met Rush, an inductee into the hall of fame. That was cool.

I learned a lot about PR for major events, and how to deal with celebrity publicists and the media. It was chaotic, but I enjoy a little chaos, it keeps things interesting.

I had an interesting encounter on the subway, on my way home from volunteering at gala, about 5 young teens broke out in a rap/song about world peace and change. While I admit I was slightly annoyed at the time (it was late and I was tired),  when I got off the subway I just felt good. Their message resonated with me, why do people, like myself,  find it so strange when people pass along a message of kindness and love. It made me think, what can I do?

“Smile, for no reason except to make the people you meet smile back”  It’s as simple as that.

Have a nice week : )



2 Responses to “put a little love in your heart”

  1. Wonderful to have you here in Toronto; I can see why your career choice in PR suits your enthusiastic personality!

    Welcome

    David Pylyp
    Living in Toronto


Leave a comment