Work hard play harder: And look good too!

24Mar10

I have been thinking a lot lately about the industry I am about to embark on.  I envisioned this world of spending accounts and cocktail parties, a world of Samantha Jones’ and attractive people.  This is an illusion created by media and T.V. PR is so much more. I have had the good fortune in the past few months to meet some PR people, they were down –to –earth, hardworking and focused individuals. Now of course this is a sweeping generalization of all industry workers, however, this has been my experience so far.

I have made another interesting observation: appearance is everything. In the real world you have about 30 seconds to make a good first impression, and I would say 50% of this is your non-verbal cues (dress, hair, body language, facial expressions and more).  Before coming to PR, I was in Journalism school for a short 4 months. I went to school in sweats, I never did my hair and I hadn’t used blush or lip gloss in months.  PR is different.   I now take pride in my appearance and I feel successful and intelligent in business dress.  The first time I asked my Mom to take me suit shopping her face lit up with pride. My mom dresses to the nines every day, she always looks good, and I am the daughter that thought dark jeans were ‘dressy’ enough.  I know better now, and on a word of advice from a teacher: Dress for the job you want!

I love this white metallic sheen suit! I want one!



2 Responses to “Work hard play harder: And look good too!”

  1. 1 justin taylor

    you inspire me.


Leave a comment