Red Carpet sizzles, Oscars fizzle

08Mar10

I have to admit, I didn’t make it through the entire Oscars last night. After watching two hours of red carpet pageantry I was pretty disappointed in the lacklustre award show. Albeit, Neil Patrick Harris is the bomb, the awards seemed to drone on and I fell asleep after 30 minutes. The Academy Awards, needs to rethink the format.  Viewers tune in to check out the big names, which always come at the very end after people like myself have stopped watching.

However, I was stoked that Kathryn Bigelow took home best director for The Hurt Locker, first time a female has ever garnered that title. And how fitting it happens to be International Women’s Day.

My favourite and least favourite dresses were quite a surprise to me. Miley Cyrus’ gown was stunning, something I wasn’t expecting from the pop princess.

My least favourite was Charlize Theron, I am such a fan of hers, and she usually “wows” me. This time not so much.

Supposed to be flowers, but looks more like icing on a cupcake.

I have to say Alec Baldwin and Steve Martin were hilarious, and seemed to irritate Geroge Clooney in their opening monologue. (GC seemed generally irritated the whole night)

Overall though, the Oscar’s were Hollywood at its finest: glamorous and star studded.

Dear Academy:

Next year make the awards shorter, so I can stay awake.

Sarah



One Response to “Red Carpet sizzles, Oscars fizzle”

  1. I was stoked that Kathryn Bigelow took home best director for The Hurt Locker, first time a female has ever coveted that title. And how fitting it happens to be International Women’s Day today.

    A little too fitting, I think, considering the two movies.


Leave a comment