IRL means In Real Life

21Mar10

I learned something new the other day. IRL means:  in real life (checked it out on urban dictionary).  Also, that despite the anonymity of the internet the idea of IRL is so important for building lasting and beneficial relationships.

Thursday night I went to hear the Toronto Blog Stars speak about how they became successful on the internet and how they built up their brands; and I was surprised that it was the idea of face- to-face interaction that was a common thread in their successes.  All the bloggers spoke about the persona’s they created online, but IRL their online identity didn’t sway too far from their true personalities. This makes them good at what they, actually GREAT, at what they do.

You know the saying, write what you know. Well Sean Ward, Casie Stewart and Raymi The Minx do just that they write about their most intimate subject: themselves. 

Their talk gave me some great tips and tricks for differentiating yourself in a sea of bloggers and brands. Be committed:  this means updating your blog and twitter regularly. (Ok, I admit I haven’t been the best at updating) Find your thing: if you have something that makes you unique play it up. And my fav tip of the night: ignore the HATERS.



8 Responses to “IRL means In Real Life”

  1. Hey Sarah – the tiny URL on Twitter was to your wp-admin panel. But I like what you’re doing here and I know you will have your own domain soon, and that will be followed by your own PR company someday. Sarah Long PR . It was nice meeting you outside the venue on Thursday, and I hope we run into each other again someday soon.

  2. you’ll be hearing lots from me love! really glad you came out 🙂

  3. It’s very important to extend the persona you are online to how you are in the real world, sure. Not everyone does this very well, and they hide behind the power that is the internet. Dish it out behind the screen, but in real life they can’t take it.

    I chose to do the reverse. I chose to be me first, blog second. So who I am online, is who I am in real life, but that’s because it IS me. I am me in real life, so I reflect that on my blog. I don’t live for my blog, my blog lives because I live.

    Different strokes for different folks.

    PS You are a total cutie.

  4. I hope to hear more about blogging from you guys soon! It was a hoot!

  5. 7 raymi

    like!


  1. 1 seanward.net » #blogstars in Review

Leave a comment